Do You Want To Get Addicted?

We all have friends who, despite hectic schedules, work and families, never miss a day of working out. Who can’t stop talking about the next 10K. Who can’t stop smiling after yoga class. Sure, they’re a little, well, obsessive about working out. But  I envy them. We envy them. That’s why I am in my way to becoming one too!! The good news is we all have the potential to become fitness-obsessed, says Tom Holland, a Connecticut-based celebrity fitness trainer, exercise physiologist, and expert in sports psychology. With Spring here and summer on its way, I felt this would be a great time to discuss a few ways on how you could become a fitness junkie too.. If you are interested in just a few proven ways YOU can use to help you begin, enjoy or possibly even becoming obsessed yourself, then please continue with my three part series on How to Become An Exercise Addict! I love it (most days) and the best part is… It is a healthy addiction!!  So lets get to it, shall we??

1. Get Up Early

Now I know we all enjoy our sleep. Some nights I work late into the early morning so I know how a good sleep is. But… I would suggest that right this minute, go set your alarm and lay out everything you need for your morning workout . (Switch on a lamp as soon as your alarm goes off so you wake up faster.) Working out at the same time every day may help you improve more quickly, a study from the University of North Texas found, and other research has shown that people who exercise in the morning are more likely to stick with their workout than those who exercise later in the day. After all, if you get your sweat session out of the way first thing in the a.m., you won’t miss out if unexpected distractions come up later in the day. (And while we’re on the subject, skip the snooze button: Research suggeststhat those extra few minutes in bed may actually make you more tired.) Most days, I workout in the mornings. It just fits into my schedule better and it helps as described for any unwanted distractions or instances that does not give me enough time to get it in.. Having a son, family and business and you never know what could happen during the course of the day.. So up and at em’…

2. Give it 6 Weeks or a little more

You always here me say it takes 21 Days to form a habit. Well, it is true.. Whether it be a good habit or bad habit. And don’t take my word for it. There’s an urban legend states that it takes 21 days for something to become a habit. But for gaining a full feel for beginning a new exercise routine or fitness program, I recommend giving it double, more like six weeks. This is when you start to see aesthetic changes in your body. For me it was 10 weeks. I started T25 and although I started seeing results in just 5 weeks, by the end of the 10th week, I was hooked. That’s when I can say I became a fitness junkie.. You see these changes in your body, your mind and you won’t want to go back to the old you! This is also about the time you’ll start to notice the difference in how you feel if you miss a day or two of exercise, and you’ll start to appreciate the natural high that comes after a good workout. Boy, it feels good when you finish your workout. And as I posted on Facebook, the best workout is the one you don’t feel like doing.. So start out with promising yourself that you will give it 6 weeks. Then you can add more time as you begin to see the results you have always wanted..

3. Find Your Niche

So you tried spinning and you hated it, or you hurt yourself on your first day of CrossFit. That doesn’t mean that all forms of fitness aren’t for you—so get back out there and try a different one. Find something that makes you tune out and gives you a release from your daily grind. whether that means trying a zumba class, bootcamp class or yoga. I learned that I was truly inspired by Shaun T with his motivation. With his inspiring words and before I knew it, he was calling “Time”.  You’ll know you found it when you look at the clock and 30 minutes or an hour flashes by without you noticing. I always tell my clients, try different programs. There are so many fitness programs that you can do and try. You are bound to find one that fits YOU. Yoga, Spinning, Insanity, Zumba.. The possibilities are endless..

This concludes Part One.. Stay tuned to the next Two posts from me explaining more proven ways exercise can become addicting.. Feel free to follow my blog and complete the contact me section in my blog to receive my monthly health and wellness newsletter!

As always, comments and suggestion are always welcome. See you soon for Part 2.

Want to get addicted?

Want to get addicted?

3 thoughts on “Do You Want To Get Addicted?

    • ARealGoodThing says:

      Thank you! I love working out in the morning since that’s when I have the most motivation.. I’m a fitness coach and run monthly online groups for motivation and support.. All the gals are loving it and we have lost almost a total of 100 pounds combined! Please feel free to follow me blog.

      Also, please sign up in the contact section of my Contacts to receive my monthly newsletter!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • ARealGoodThing says:

      Thank You, Jackie!!
      Part Two will have even more tips and tricks for becoming Addicted to Great Health and Exercise!! Please feel free to follow my blog and you will receive great nutritional, fitness and exercise information.
      I have to admit, I had to really make the time to make the am my workout time!! Consistency is key especially on those days when you don’t feel like it.. It’s best to get it out of the way and get on with your day. You have more energy and will perform better in the morning as well. Please let me if I could help in any way!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

