Well? Yes, No, Maybe? What is your Answer?

image

What’s keeping you from working out? Whether it’s too little time, not enough energy, or just hating to exercise, there’s a solution. Get ready to get motivated.

Exercise Excuse No. 1: “I Don’t Have Time”

“How much television do you watch?” If you are watching TV, you have time. How? During your shows, use resistance bands for strength training, or walk in place. You could also record your shows and watch them later, skipping the ads; use that time to exercise. See there is an answer….lol

If you don’t have a long stretch of time, you could break up your workout into shorter sessions. Some activity is better than none.

Exercise Excuse No. 2: “I’m Too Tired”

Working out actually gives you more energy. Your body makes feel-good hormones (endorphins), “and you’re getting the circulation going,” says Marisa Brunett, a certified athletic trainer in Orlando, Fla.

It may help to work out in the morning, like I do, before your day gets away from you. Get up, get it done and out of the way.

Not a morning person? No problem. Do it whenever you feel best, whether it be mid-day or evening. You can work out any time of day, as long as you get it done.

Exercise Excuse No. 3: “I Don’t Get a Break From the Kids”

I used to use this one so I was good at making this excuse…
But then when I really decided to change my eating and exercise habit, I found that it was easy to get in my workouts even with my son around….I committed to making it work for me. For 25 minutes, they can occupy themselves if they are older, exercise when they nap, if they are younger…Some programs are just 25 minutes long….Or you take the kids with you. While they’re playing, you can walk around the playground, or jump rope nearby. During their games or sports practices, walk briskly around the field. The getaway from this is where there is a will, there is a way.

Go biking with your kids, put up a soccer net in your yard, sign up as a family for “fun runs,” or just walk around the neighborhood with your children. When the weather’s bad, try those video games like “Dance Dance Revolution,” “Wii Sport,” and “Wii Fit.” I am seriously looking into this for the winter….lol…..But the purpose is to move and do something and what better time to do it…With your family!

See what some people do not realize is that when mom or dad is fit, and has more energy, the whole family benefits..

I can speak from experience….When I was at my low, I was depressed, not interested in anything and distanced myself from everyone, including my husband. But when I started exercising, my life changed. Not only did I benefit physically but mentally as well and my relationships were better. You just have a more positive feeling about yourself.

Exercise Excuse No. 4: “Exercise is so Boring”

Find an activity you love. Try skating, biking, dancing, or gardening. Join a sports league. Go dancing. There’s an exercise for everyone. It doesn’t have to be onerous or unpleasant. You might just have fun…Go figure.

If it makes exercise more enjoyable for you, it’s OK to watch TV or read while you’re on the exercise bike or treadmill, as long as your workout is still challenging.

Get some friends to go with you, or join a group. And every once in a while, try something totally new. It’s ok to mix it up so you do not get bored.

Exercise Excuse No. 5: “I Just Don’t Like to Move”

First, figure out why. Let me, as your coach, help you find the reason why you don’t like to move…There are many different programs that are out there and finding the right one is key.

Is it that you don’t like getting sweaty? You can work out indoors where it’s air conditioned. You can swim so you won’t notice the sweat. Or try a low-sweat activity, like gentle types of yoga or pilates.

Is it hard on your joints? Head for the pool. Exercising in water is easier on your joints. Do the modified versions. The stronger your muscles get, the more they can support your joints and the less you’ll hurt. If your physical limitations are more serious, check with your doctor, or find a fitness coach who can help you figure out exercises that are still safe and easy to do.

If you’re self-conscious about your weight, like I was, working out in the privacy in your own home is best. Participating in an online challenge group and having daily support of a fitness coach will help you feel supported and give you feelings of being understood….You see, we all were where you are at. Our stories might be different but are connected somehow, someway.

Exercise Excuse No. 6: “I’ve Tried Before”

As your coach, I can help you set goals that are small and realistic. Working with a personal fitness coach will provide you with support and daily motivation. Then you’re more likely to feel like a success, not a failure. I would be able to help you find a program that will work for you and motivate you to keep at it until you see results.

See, the idea here….Stop making excuses…There is an answer for most people..You just have to do it and then you will see the results you want and need. Then Motivation sets in!

It also helps to keep a log and post it somewhere public — even on Facebook. This is why you see me post a lot of pictures of myself and me exercising and my results. It is for accountability and is my “wall of encouragement.” A log also helps you see if you’re starting to fall off the wagon (or the treadmill).

Having me as your fitness coach or having an exercise buddy keeps you accountable as well. Get a friend to do a fitness program with you. You may be more likely to continue your workouts if you know someone is expecting you to do it and doing it with you.

I would love to provide you with more information on how to get past those excuses…So please send me a message or reply to this blog and I promise, I will do all I can to help you succeed with your health and fitness journey! Please follow this blog for more healthy tips!

Leave a Reply

